Hamba Kahle Andy Privett

We were shocked and saddened today to learn of the sudden, unexpected death yesterday of Andy Privett, a former City Group activist.  He was 47. Andy (who went by the name of Gardner at the time) was a stalwart of the City of London Anti-Apartheid Group who was actively involved throughout the Non-Stop Picket and beyond.  In recent years, he continued to be politically active in UK Uncut, Unite Against Fascism, and Occupy Nottingham. A full obituary will appear here later in the week, drawing on the interview Andy recorded with the Non-Stop Against Apartheid research project earlier in the year.

Hamba Kahle Andy! You will be missed.

About Gavin Brown

Lecturer in Human Geography University of Leicester
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hamba Kahle Andy Privett

  1. helen says:

    Thank you for that Gavin.
    Andy will be greatly missed. He was a true comrade and a very loyal and generous friend.
    We are truly grieving at this time.

  2. I have so many memories of Andy’s kindness, his solidarity with all that was good and right was an inspiration, he helped me through so much shit in my life and always made me laugh. I don’t know what else to say, except I wish he had made it to the City Group gatherings or I had made it to visit him.

    Oh, just thought, at a party at my flat in Willesden, he got up early on the Sunday morning, went out to get himself some Marigolds and by the time I crawled out of my bed he had cleaned the flat from top to bottom and started the breakfast.

    All our love wherever you may be andy… X

  3. helen says:

    Will do Gavin.
    I think it will be a little while yet.

Leave a Reply

